The 411 with Author Robin Badillo

Well howdy fellow Texan! First tell us a bit about Robin. What attracted you to become a writer?

I have always been told I am a great story teller because I am somewhat of a “drama mama”. Now whether that was intended to be an insult or compliment really doesn’t matter because I ran with it and did what people said I did best and told my stories.

Tell us about your latest book. How did you come up with the concept of this story?

Well, my latest release is so different from what I usually write, it’s not even in the same hemisphere. In fact, it’s so different I used an entirely different name to write it.

If you see Tyler Robbins out and about, please say hello, she and I are VERY close!

That latest release is titled, Beyond Honor and is a M/M Erotic tale regarding the U.S. military and love-struck characters in a post, don’t ask, don’t tell world.

It’s probably one of my most rewarding stories to date.

How did you get into writing paranormal romance? Was this a genre that interested you as a child?

When I was young, I loved romance, but the naughtier titles were harder to get my hands on. Oddly enough, I didn’t really read paranormal at all. Though now, it’s one of my favorite genres.

I’ll tell you how I started writing paranormal with my answer to the next question.

There’s one question I always have to ask authors who write about vampires.  How do you feel about the Twilight series? Did you read it or watch the films?

When I first read the Twilight series, I was stoked because my teen daughter, my best friend and several other close friends were reading it at the same time.

I didn’t even know there was a series until after I rented Twilight on DVD…yep, that’s right, I didn’t see the first movie until it had left theaters.

I do have to credit the series for one thing—the main reason I started writing about vampires was to create heroines who could actually have hot sex and kick some butt.

Some paranormal romance authors have called Twilight an embarrassment to the genre. Do you feel that Twilight’s success has had a positive or negative impact on the genre?

For a young adult story, I think Twilight is a “safe” choice for younger readers. As a mother, I had no qualms about handing it over to my daughters.

As a reader, it was an interesting story. I had never read anything with such a different take on vampires. Most are stereotypical.

On a negative note, I was sorely disappointed with the ending of the series. I have likened it to an enjoyable climax without the orgasm.

The final showdown between hero, heroine and their nemesis’ was a let-down. I wanted to see the battle erupt, with fur flying and heads rolling… sigh… but Ms. Meyer never took it there, which is why I credit that disappointment for my vampire stories.

I hope I never invite a reader to a home-cooked meal without delivering the dessert.

Is it hard for you to write about creatures that aren’t human? How do you get yourself inside such a character?

I love creating new beings. Even if they are all vampires, I’m excited to make each unique and special, not all sharing the same “gifts”, if you will.

My young adult series, “Journey of the Damned”, explored those differences, while my “Blood Hunter” Series embraced a bit more of the “old school” traditions. Then “Midnight Beckoning” offered a little bit of everything.

As for getting inside the characters, to be honest, it was the other way around, they invaded me.

Name a genre you haven’t written but would love to write one day and why?

What wouldn’t I write, is a better question.  My alter-ego has just stepped into a whole new world of GLBT, predominately M/M erotica. So, in all honesty, my options are as flexible as my muse and let me tell ya’, that man is quite the contortionist!

Which one of your books was the toughest to write and why?

Tyler Robbins’ books aside, Robin’s hardest story to date was “Midnight Beckoning.” This story not only introduced new vampire characters, it was my first attempt at expanding the genre to include not only vampires, but damphyr and incubi, as well. Not to mention some good old fashioned folklore, prophesies, and even a surprise or two along the way.

You’ve released many titles. Do you feel your work has the impact on readers you hoped it would?

I sincerely hope so. Unfortunately, I mostly rely on reviews and personal emails and comments for feedback and since I am still a relatively new author, I haven’t had a whole heck of a lot of it yet. Those that I have heard from have been very positive and that means the world to me.

Out of all your promotional efforts, what do you feel helps you get the word out the most or is it a combination of things? What promotional tips do you have for authors?

I wish I had a tried and true answer for this one, but in this industry, one can only play it by ear and keep plugging away until something works. Being seen is a must and for me personally, I help other authors as much as possible. WE are all in this together, so when you find something that works, you should share the love.

Do you feel that cross promotion with other authors helps you get the word out about your own work?

Again, share the love!

What do you like and dislike the most about the writing industry?

I love the diversity of writers I’ve met along the way. I have learned so much from them and I hope I’ve done the same for others.

The worse part of this industry is the way fads come and go so quickly. What readers demand today, may be different tomorrow. The problem is that it takes a minute or two to write a 50K+ novel. It’s time like those I wish life would imitate art so some of the paranormal aspects of my books could be put to good use in the mortal world.

Have you enjoyed your journey as a published author so far? Do you have any regrets about the choices you’ve made?

I am so pleased with my journey. The ONLY thing I would change would be when I started pursuing writing seriously as a career. Had I started twenty years ago, there’s no telling where I would be today.

What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned concerning the industry?

I love this question because my answer never changes: Develop tough skin because honing your craft is hard work and sometimes it hurts, especially if critics are unkind.

If you have dedicated critique partners, then you’ve probably already been stung a time or two and that’s okay. Constructive criticism only makes you a stronger writer.

Who is your favorite writer and do you feel they’ve impacted your work?

As far as big names go, I am a fan of Stephen King, John Grisham and Dean Koontz.

On a little more personal level, Avril Ashton is one of those rare finds and her books have inspired some of my most delicious tales.

Do you ever feel pressured by your audience to write your stories in a certain way or do you just follow your heart?

I have never felt pressure, but lately I have had requests.

Readers are actually asking me to write certain types of stories and that’s how Tyler Robbins’ novels came to be. Readers are really asking for stories that are more “human”, so to speak, and based on everyday issues. I have only been too happy to oblige.

What can your fans expect from you next? What new releases coming up?

Robin may not have anything to offer anytime soon. I do have a Christmas Anthology in the works, but most of my current projects will be from Tyler. I’m tellin’ ya’, keep an eye out, she’s on a road heading toward infinite possibilities.

Authors seem to have mixed feelings when it comes to ebooks. How do you feel? Do you think the digital age is a hindrance or blessing for authors?

I’ve never had a book go to print and while I love tangible books, the bookshelf in my living room is crammed full with less than 50 titles while my Kindle has barely made a dent in what it can hold. In a world where we humans have already made such a negative impact on our natural resources, the digital age may be our best defense against further waste.

What book of yours would you want to be made into a movie and who would you want to play the main character and why?

Midnight Beckoning would make an awesome movie.  Chris Hemsworth would rock as Damphyr King, Ford Lennox and a red-haired Blake Lively would make a lovely Lauren Neil. Throw in a dark haired, Nicholas Hault and he’d fit perfect into that story’s sexy triangle as Evan, the rival Vampire Lord.

What words of wisdom do you have for newbies starting in the industry today?

Write what you know and what moves you. Don’t compromise on your beliefs or your integrity and most of all have fun.

Thanks for stopping by, Robin!

Robin’s website is: http://www.robinbadillo.org 

And Tyler’s website is: http://www.tylerrobbins.org

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/robin.badillo

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/Robin_Badillo

Robin’s books are available from eXtasy Books

Tyler’s first book is available from Evernight Publishing

All titles are available at Are Café, Amazon, Barnes and Noble Nook books and other 3rd party retailers

Leave a Reply

